Skip to content

Welcome Back & The 24 Hour Read-a-Thon Begins!

October 9, 2010
24-Hour Read-a-Thon: October 9, 2010

Hello? Hello? Is anybody here? Hello…uh, it’s me…do you remember me? I know it’s been awhile…okay, okay… I know it’s been more than “awhile”…but I am like the Cheshire Cat of the blog-o-sphere…slowly fading away with a wicked smile on my face, leaving you to wonder where I will pop up next…and when? I promise to explain my long disappearance and sudden reappearance this coming week. I assure you that BookObsessedGrl is back & I will be blogging like crazy…Starting Right Now!

I hope you’ll forgive my disappearing act & join me today for Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-Thon! 😀 It’s gonna be fun!

I figured there was no better way to celebrate my return from outer-space than by participating in the Read-a-Thon & inviting you all to follow along.

I signed up last week, but then forgot it was today until someone mentioned it yesterday, so I am doing this on the fly. I have no plans other than read, do mini-challenges and have fun! I didn’t pick out books in advance, so I am going to start by reading some of the E-books I have on my TBR list, all of the books I will be reading today I purchased myself. I won’t be reading any ‘review copies’. When I got up this morning I also grabbed a bunch of “real” books off my TBR shelf so I can hop from e-book to paperback to hardcover & back. One thing I learned from last year’s read-a-thon is that what I think I will feel like reading yesterday, is not necessarily what I’ll feel like reading today. With that in mind I am going to choose books & short stories over the next 24 hours based upon my mood at the time.  😀

Because I had to take my daughter to do her SAT this morning and knew I’d be late getting back I started reading at 6 AM and my first book is:

 

 

An Artificial Night (October Daye Book #3) by Seanan McGuire

 

My first official update is that I am on page 88 of An Artificial Night by Seanan McGuire! Read 25 pages while waiting for my daughter to get ready. I had started this book a couple of weeks ago, but set it aside to finish another book, that is the reason for the page count discrepancy.

Here’s a sample of a few of the other books I may read today:

 

Slave to Sensation by Nalini Singh

 

Queen of Shadows by Dianne Sylvan

 

 

Angel of Death by J. Robert King

 

Blameless (The Parasol Protectorate #3) by Gail Carriger

 

 

Moon Called by Patricia Briggs

 

Becoming Latina in 10 Easy Steps by Lara Rios

 

 

Ghost Interrupted by Sonia Singh

 

 

Unbound (Anthology) Short Stories by Multiple Authors

 

 

Confessions of a Nervous Shiksa by Tracy McArdle

Notice they are not all Urban Fantasy? I am broadening my reading horizons again. Let’s see how it goes….Keep checking back for updates & mini-challenges over the next 24-hours.

Thanks for stopping by!

Now back to reading…see ya soon!

~BookObsessedGrl

 

 

P.S. I am soo glad to be back! Oh, and please ignore most of the things on my sidebar…they are out dated, however the book shown there are all highly recommended! My reviews of  Deadtown by Nancy Holzner is available here. I reviewed both Prime Evil by Heather Long and Blood Vice by Keith Melton over at Book Lovers Inc, but for some reason I can’t find them right now. I loved both books & am eagerly awaiting Book #2 in each series. If necessary I will re-post those reviews soon. As for Connect the Dots by Denise Robbins, I LOVED that book! I haven’t done a full review yet, but trust me when I tell you it is an awesome book! The review will be up soon. 😀

Okay now seriously, I’m going to read for the next 15 minutes – because the first mini-challenge is at 10AM – good thing I read some early! LOL 😀

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

