Skip to content

Connect the Dots, Interview and Contest with Denise Robbins!

December 11, 2009

Let’s give author, Denise Robbins’ a big Book Obsessed Welcome! I am so excited to have her here today, for the last blog dot-stop on her Countdown to Connect the Dots  game. Denise’s latest book in her Techno-Romance-Mystery/Thriller Series (say that 5 times fast) is Connect the Dots and it releases next Tuesday, December 15, 2009! Mark your calendars and set aside some money because this steamy, thrilling book is one you don’t want to miss! The previous two books in the series are It Happens in Threes and Killer Bunny Hill. As I said it is a series and the books are linked but can easily be read as stand-alone novels as well. So there is nothing holding you back from jumping right in with Connect the Dots! After the interview keep reading for information on how you can win a Connect the Dots Prize pack – there are two chance to win – one here at Book Obsessed and one at Denise’s Blog!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

CIA Human Intelligence Operator, Charley Duston gets the shock of her life when she opens her freezer to find the picture of her murdered ex-lover. Worse is the implied message: She is next. Not one to give into intimidation tactics, Charley is determined to uncover the truth behind her ex’s death and bring the culprits to justice. Not knowing whom she can trust, she moves to an undisclosed location where she can covertly investigate the death threats. Here she meets her new neighbor Jake Frisbie at gunpoint when she mistakes him for a carjacker. Attracted to the handsome, easy-going hunk, Charley knows her relationship with Jake would only put him in danger. She tries to fight off her feelings but finally gives in just before her world crashes and she is kidnapped.

The beautiful, new neighbor entrances Jake but he can make no sense of her secretive nocturnal disappearances. As a Special Agent, he investigates her and is shocked to learn she is at the center of an international crisis. Despite common sense, he becomes involved with the young woman and when she disappears, he vows to find her. Risking his life, Jake ventures into the world of black sites and international intrigue to save the woman he loves and expose the responsible criminals. No matter how high up in the government they sit.

     ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 **If you don’t already know the detail of the Countdown to Connect the Dots then click here to read my post from last night with all the details and all the great blog dot-stops.**

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BkObsessed: Hi Denise! Welcome to Book Obsessed. First things first, what is the question for this dot-stop of the Countdown to Connect the Dots that everyone should have already seen at the end of Mike’s awesome Cookie Monster blog dot-stop?

 

DRobbins: Wasn’t Mike’s blog about Cookie Monster and Connect the Dots terrific?

 BkObsessed: I absolutely LOVE it! I’ve read it a couple of times – its that cute!

 DRobbins: The questions were, “What CIA approved “enhanced interrogation technique” does the heroine witness in Connect the Dots? and “Why does she not approve?”

 

*** If you haven’t already read Mike’s stop then, click on the link for Mike’s blog-dot stop, read it and come back for the interview. Its Cookie Monster, How can you resist? Besides being a great post its also important for today’s contest & the Grand Prize at Denise‘s Blog! So, Go read it. We’ll wait while you read and giggle. What are you still doing here? Go Now!***

 

BkObsessed: Okay, now that everyone’s back, I’ll start off with a few easy questions to ease your nerves a bit…What is your favorite color?

 DRobbins: Since I was a little girl, I have always loved pink. The first doll I had was pink and my first bedspread that I remember was pink.

 

 BkObsessed: What is your favorite type of music?

 DRobbins: Hm, this is actually hard for me because I actually like a mix but recently I have been getting into some of the pop-country. I even took voice lessons, but, shh, don’t tell anyone.

 

BkObsessed: I have heard so many authors talk about the music they listen to while they write. Do you listen to music while you write?

 DRobbins: On occasion, I listen to music when I write usually when I am sitting outside on my deck.

 

 BkObsessed: If so: What did you start out listening to when you first started writing Connect the Dots? Did you create a playlist before hand or just pick what you felt like listening to at the time?

 DRobbins: I started listening to Rascal Flatts while writing Connect the Dots. I am so not a “computerize my music” person. I stick the CD in the player and let it go. I own an mp3 player but I have yet to actually use it. I want my music without having to wait for it to download. Can you tell I have no patience?


BkObsessed: Did your music choices evolve throughout the writing process?

 DRobbins: Well, considering I had never heard of Rascal Flatts (I know – I live in a cave) until I started writing Connect the Dots I would say yes, my music choices evolved.

 

BkObsessed: Can you tell us a few songs you listened to while writing Connect the Dots? What type of scene does each of the songs correspond to?

 DRobbins: Wow! I love the entire “Me and My Gang” CD. I would say that the songs that affected me most off that CD were “Stand” and “My Wish”. Stand” gives me a visual of someone who just went through a battle or is going through a battle and in the end or as the songs says, “When push comes to shove” she figures out what she is made of and ends up being stronger for it. With “My Wish” I see a someone who finally decides to go after what she wants in life.

 

BkObsessed: I am really glad to hear you discovered Rascal Flatts! They are one of my personal favorites and both “Stand” and “My Wish” are on my list of all time favorite songs. I definitely see how those two songs inspire this book and help drive both Charley and Jake. I’d also recommend a couple other country singers – Kenny Chesney, Brad Paisley and a group that’s not country but I think you might like is Snow Patrol.

 

BkObsessed: Now that I have given you a false sense of security, it’s time to get down to it…I know you are an IT – Software Engineering Manager for your day job, what made you take the leap to author from IT? Did you always want to be a writer
or was it something that just came to you late one night while you were nursing your insomnia?

 

DRobbins: I’ve always loved writing. At one time, I considered taking journalism courses so I could be a sports journalist. Somewhere along the way I fell in love with technology. Yes, that makes me a real geek. I returned to my first passion about six years ago when I was out of work. I decided I REALLY wanted to do something not computer related. I had been reading every mystery/true crime book I could get my hands on when I was struck upside my blonde head with an epiphany. I started writing that day and haven’t stopped. I learned a big lesson…always follow your passion.

 

BkObsessed: I hear the Jake, the hero from Connect the Dots is your favorite character. Why? What is it about him?

 DRobbins: Mmm. It’s all in his name. Jake is a name that exudes masculinity and sexiness. He swaggers, has a great butt in a pair of jeans, and has a southern drawl that is music to every woman’s ears. It’s Jake’s honest, homegrown manner along with his strength and gentleness that draws you to those mist green eyes and crooked grin.

 

BkObsessed: Jake played a roll in your last two books, was it always the plan to do one with Jake as MC or was he just so pushy that you had to write him to get him to shut up about it?

 DRobbins: Jake appeared in my first book out of nowhere and at one point I fell in love with him, so much so that I considered having the heroine fall for him. Alas, I had to make him back off. I knew I would have to make him hero in his own book.  Jake showed up again in Killer Bunny Hill and then would not go away. At one point one of the people that edits my books as I write emailed me and asked, “Jake?” HA! The pain in my tuckus decided it was time. That’s when I knew the next book was his.

 

BkObsessed: Tell us about your writing practices or methods? What is your work-space like?

 

DRobbins: Um, let me see, I have no writing practices or methods. I write whatever pops into my head. I do have a few routines. When I start a story I focus on the characters first, who they are and what they do. Then I look at what might be an interesting technology bent to a story with these two characters. Then I write. I plot very little, only a few chapters at a time. I do this because inevitably my characters tell me where the story will go.

My workspace is my laptop. I do have a small office on the upper floor of my home. It’s cozy and warm with two windows for plenty of light, a bookshelf for my research books, and a small television so occasionally I can find out what is happening in the world. When I get days at a time to write you will find me tucked away in my office. In the summertime, my office is my back deck. I’m an outdoor girl so give me sun and a cold drink and I am a writing machine.

Other than that, my writing space is wherever my laptop is, which is usually tucked inside my purse. It’s a BIG purse. If I don’t have my laptop, I always have pen and paper and the last pages written in my current WIP. On Saturdays, you can usually find me at the bagel shop that friends of mine own with my laptop writing away. On Sundays, I will be the blonde writer at the back of Panera’s.

 

 BkObsessed: How old were you when you started reading?

 DRobbins: I can’t be certain how old I when I started reading, but I recall curling up on my dad’s lap and making him read to me. As I grew, I could not get enough of words. I would read everything including street signs.

 

BkObsessed: What types of book did you read most in your youth/teen years?

 DRobbins: In young elementary school I fell in love with horse books. Remember the book “Mystic of Chincoteague?” I wanted to go to Chincoteague and see the horses. When I got into late elementary years and teens, I read whatever my father read, which was mostly non-fiction books.

 

BkObsessed: Last but not least, What is the answer to the very first question way up there at the top?

 

DRobbins: Waterboarding and Charley considers waterboarding to be a form of torture.

 

BkObsessed: Thank you so much Denise, for taking the time to be here today and answer my {occasionally} unorthodox questions. It has been so much fun chatting with you and having you as my very first interview!!! I am honored to be the last blog-dot stop that leads back to your blog.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Denise has generously offered to give a Connect the Dots prize pack to one Book Obsessed reader today!

 

Here’s how to enter:

1) Pop on over to Mike’s blog, Miked Up (http://michaelj.blogspot.com/) and find the link to the cookies recipe > follow the link to the recipes > come back and tell us what the names are of the two types of cookies that Charley likes to bake in Connect the Dots.

2) Tell us what type of baked goods should Charley bring to get YOU to spill the information she is looking for?

 

Connect the Dots Prize Pack:

1 – Signed Copy of Connect the Dots

1 – T-Shirt that says “You don’t say no to girls…Who do it and write about it.”

1 – Connect the Dots Game

The Book Obsessed Contest Ends tomorrow, Friday, December 11, 2009 at Noon ET.

Winner will be chosen using Random.org.

 

 

How to enter to win the Grand Prize at Denise’s Blog:

To enter to win the Grand Prize in the Connect the Dots Blog-Dots Game take a few minutes to stop by each of the participating blogs and follow the dot-stops for answers to each of the questions and answers. Then return to Denise’s Blog with all of the answers. The person who answers the most dot-stop questions will win the Grand Prize. Click Here for the list of blogs in order, the first is Denise’s blog with the complete rules of the game and more information on the Grand Prize.

Great Links:

Connect the Dots

Killer Bunny Hill 

It Happens in Threes

22 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2009 01:57

    This sounds like a wonderful read! I looked up Killer Bunny Hill and that looks good as well!

    • December 11, 2009 01:57

      Colette –

      If you like a good action/adventure with a lot of suspense then Killer Bunny Hill is a fun ride.

  2. December 11, 2009 01:57

    Charley likes to bake Monster Cookies and Russian Teacake Cookies.

    To get me to spill my guts she should bring some doubl- chocolate-chocolate-chip-muffins or something with an equally amount of chocolate. I’m easy that way.LOL
    Great interview! I so have to check out this band now.

  3. Denise permalink
    December 11, 2009 01:57

    Hey! I want some of those muffins too!

  4. December 11, 2009 01:57

    Unfortunately I don’t know how to make them!
    My mom won’t tell me! But I have the suspicion it’s just one of these convenience mixes and she just put extra chocolate in it! But I can’t say for sure. Sorry!
    I so want chocolate now!

    P.S. and as Heather and I discovered: me knowing a good recipe doesn’t mean I can translate it in a way someone would understand.LOL

    • December 11, 2009 01:57

      I am positive we can work out a way for me to make that other recipe! In fact I want to make it for Xmas-Eve so I need to get the email from you resent to new email address if you still have the translation you did. I think it’ll blow the family’s mind if I make that for dessert on Xmas. 😀

  5. December 11, 2009 01:57

    I think I had seen this title somewhere recently and was intriqued, but now I ‘d really like to read this book! Great interview, too 🙂

    The cookies in question are Monster Cookies (which sound awesome, btw) and Russian Teacake Cookies.

    Foe me to spill my secrets, it would involve a raisin scone fresh from the oven with cottled cream and homemade strawberry jam. To die for!

    • December 11, 2009 01:57

      OMG! Your’s sounds heavenly! If you have a receipe you’d like to share we’d love to have it! 😀

  6. December 11, 2009 01:57

    Just wanted to say I enjoyed the post! When you come across an author interview, you never really know what you’re going to find out. I love the start up questions so everyone gets to see the “everyday” side of them as well as the super-star author version. Thanks for sharing!

    • December 11, 2009 01:57

      Wow! Thank you! That is a wonderful compliment. After having done this one, I think I may ask similar questions of most of the people I interview because it was a lot of fun for me and I am getting a very positive response to my interview. 🙂

  7. Denise permalink
    December 11, 2009 01:57

    I agree with GMR. Fun questions.

    I believe people want to know more about the author everyday side. I know I do.

    • December 11, 2009 01:57

      Thanks Denise. I feel that way too. I never felt like authors were real people until I started talking to them. To me you all (*waves hand around to encompass all authors*) are like Rock-Stars to me. Thanks to Twitter that has given me the ability to talk to so many authors, I realized ya’ll are real people too and I think everyone should get to see that side. 🙂

  8. December 11, 2009 01:57

    Techno-Romance-Mystery/Thriller Series <–that caught my attention because, let's face it, there is a whole lot of awesome packed into each of those.

    This sounds like a great read. The picture in the freezer bit was a very nice touch–a perfect hook.

    Good interview, too. Gave a good "sense" of the author, if that makes any…um…sense.

    • December 11, 2009 01:57

      Keith –

      Glad you liked the techno-romance/mystery/thriller genre. 🙂
      All the things I love in a good book.

  9. December 11, 2009 01:57

    Well done Heather! Except….. you’ve made me crave cookies and I haven’t had my ‘eat me or you die’ museli for breakfast yet!

  10. December 11, 2009 01:57

    Monster Cookies and Russian TeaCake Cookies. (both receipes look yummy by the way!)

    She could use a Pecan Pie to get me to talk.

    • December 11, 2009 01:57

      Gene –

      I had my first pecan pie 2 years ago in Kentucky. There was chocolate in the recipe and OMG! It was fantastic.

  11. December 11, 2009 01:57

    Wow, these books sound great! I hadn’t heard of them before, but I’m so intrigued now! Great interview, and thanks so much for adding to my TBR list!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Connect the Dots, Interview and Contest with Denise Robbins! « -- Topsy.com
  2. Twitted by BookobsessedGrl

Leave a Reply

