Skip to content

Contest: Doubleblind by Ann Aguirre (Jax Series #3)

November 21, 2009

I had a plan for this week, but if you read this blog at all you are probably thinking to yourself  Heather, really why do you bother with all that planning? All I can say is, I have no idea! I make these plans and have these ideas and then…well it never quite works out. What did I have planned for this week? Glad you asked! I was going to complete 7 reviews, do a post daily about books I am excited about and (this is where things went a rye) I planned to customize and me-a-fy my blog. I thought how hard can it be to make this blog a more comfortable place for me to hang out and to make it more representative of me. How hard indeed! This contest was supposed to go up two days ago, along with my reviews of Grimspace and Wanderlust (Books #1 & 2 of Ann Aguirre’s Jax Series). Customizing the blog has totally eaten up my days and a couple of nights. I didn’t want to post anything exciting until I was done with all my customizing.  However, I have reluctantly accepted that this may take awhile so why should you guys have to wait on me?

All of that said, it has been a pretty good week. So instead of making this contest a part of my reviews I have decided to celebrate the good things that have come of this week! What am I celebrating? On Wednesday, I hit exactly 10,000 Tweets on Twitter! On Thursday, I won two book! (Sunshine by Robin McKinley from Book Reader Times and Demon Inside by Stacia Kane from Fantasy Literature…Frankly) They are small things but I truly believed that it is the small things we should be celebrating. Thanks to Mandi for noticing I’d hit exactly 10,000 tweets, thanks to Ivy and SB Frank for adding to my TBR pile, while at the same time saving me money (except that now I have to go by Personal Demons because Demon Inside is book #2 – but I don’t get picky about free books!)

On that note (that being free books) lets get this going with a free book for someone else!

It’s not easy to tread lightly wearing steel-toed boots.


Sirantha Jax isn’t known for diplomatic finesse. As a “Jumper” who navigates ships through grimspace, she’s used to kicking ass first and taking names later—much later. Not exactly the obvious choice to sell the Conglomerate to the Ithtorians, a people whose opinions of humans are as hard as their exoskeletons.

And Ithiss-Tor council meetings aren’t the only place where Ambassador Jax needs to maneuver carefully. Her lover, March, is frozen in permanent “kill” mode, and his hair-trigger threatens to sabotage the talks—not to mention their relationship.

But Jax won’t give up on the man or the mission. With the Outskirts beleaguered by raiders, pirates, and the flesh-eating Morgut, an alliance with Ithiss-Tor may be humanity’s only hope. Which has Jax wondering why a notorious troublemaker like her was given the job…

As I mentioned at the end of the post about Skin Game by Ava Gray a.k.a. Ann Aguirre this contest has been made possible through the kindness of Mandi at Smexy Books and SB Frank at Fantasy Literature…Frankly. How this came about was that I did my very first guest post called “On Becoming a Fangirl” on Fanlit…Frankly awhile back and they offered a copy of Doubleblind for one lucky commenter. We got tons on comments on that post and it was a great day all around. Mandi was randomly chosen as the winner, but she had already read the book and done her own review. So Mandi and SB Frank generously offered to give me the book for a contest here on Book Obsessed. As a thank you to them you all need to go over to their blogs, look around and comment on one of their posts!

I haven’t yet read Doubleblind myself, but only because of the postal strike in the U.K. that was going on when I ordered and I knew nothing about. My copy of Doubleblind mysteriously disappeared somewhere on the other side of the pond. (I’m in the U.S., but often order from the Book Depository in the U.K. – I highly recommend them as a place to get books!) My copy is on its way here (again) and I should be reading it soon!

I am very excited to read Doubleblind because I LOVE THIS SERIES!!! My reviews are not complete for Grimspace or Wanderlust but I highly recommend them both. I read each of them in less than a day and a half because I just couldn’t put them down! They are that good! Full reviews are still coming your way soon…soon as I get this place looking nice – what a mess!

I know, I know…get on with it…I hear ya!

Here’s how you enter:

Answer this Question – Do you prefer to read a series or do you like stand-alone books better and why do you feel that way? I am a series addict, because I fall in love with not only the stories but the characters also. Now I what to hear from you!

Include your email address or twitter ID with your response so that I can contact the winner.

Contest ends Tuesday,  November 24, 2009 and winner will be posted shortly thereafter.

***This is a short contest so – comment now before you forget and someone else wins the book you want. If you already have Doubleblind, please comment also, just add a note at the end of your comment letting me know you already have a copy.

40 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2009 01:57

    I love both! It always depends what you make out of a book or better said a story. I have favorite series and standalones so it’s hard to decide. I think truest would be series too cuz I have the most books of those.LOL
    Please don’t enter me! Already got this book!

  2. November 21, 2009 01:57

    Just started reading “Grimspace.” Lovin’ it! I won’t get any work done til I finish it 🙂

    I love series. It’s all Nora Roberts’ fault. First the Quinns. Then the Calhouns. Then those great trilogies. And now Eve Dallas! I can’t wait to read the rest of this series by Ann. And I’ve never read straight sci-fi before!

    I like series because I get to see the continuation of characters. I like knowing how they continue to grow and develop, especially in regard to their relationships!

    Twitter ID: @ALeighWilliams

  3. November 21, 2009 01:57

    I LOVE series because often when I read a book I want to know more. I want to know what happened the next week, or year. Or if the characters outgrew their quirks or got new ones. Series are great for this!

  4. Breiab permalink
    November 21, 2009 01:57

    I love both but if you look at my shelves you’ll see that if its a series book I like to buy all of them, even if I haven’t read them all. I am on a serious Book Budget right now which means that I have to keep track of everything Iwant and then ask my famiy for them for Christmas. Its ok I don’t mind waiting as long as I get them. So definitely enter me, the first 2 books were awesome and I look forward to reading this one as well.

    Twitter.com/bbricke

    Breia

  5. November 21, 2009 01:57

    I love series, I love the way many characters become so dear to me but I sometimes long for just one story where everything is delivered and tied up with a red bow and glitters. I don’t think I’ll find that much in the UF or PNR genre but Contemporary genre has them and I have a few in this genre on my shelves.

  6. November 21, 2009 01:57

    Oh Oh my comment is awaiting moderation…was I a good girl or did my horns grow and showed my wicked side? 😀 I’m awaiting the decision *grin* Sorry gals, I’m getting frisky!

  7. November 21, 2009 01:57

    I have always loved series. I started with the Sword of Truth Series. I own several other series and always collecting more. I do love stand alone books as well. There are always good ones out there. Like The Thief Lord.

    -cbrett60 (twitter)

  8. November 21, 2009 01:57

    *waves* Hola !

    Yay i love to celebrate =) congrats on the winning sweety! And Wow on the 10 000th tweets. 😉

    I love this series, only an hour ago i was reading Wanderlust while waiting for my doctor appointment. I love it, but i’m going through some sad pages, i need strength lol

    I’m torn when it comes to choose between Stand alone and series. I used to love series, well i still do, but i’m getting bored with series that goes on and on and on…i need closure at some point. Even with the best series. I’m enjoying reading stand alone books because i know i’ll get the closure i need. The best in my opinion is when you get series but with different main characters for each book, which an ending for each book. Whouhou i’m not really clear lol

    ps:don’t enter me in the contest i own the whole series 😉

  9. November 21, 2009 01:57

    “I am a series addict, because I fall in love with not only the stories but the characters also.”

    I couldn’t have said it better myself. I often become deeply attached to the characters in a book and one book is not enough for me.

  10. November 21, 2009 01:57

    oh and i like the new style for the blog! I only just saw it because i usually read blog on my iphone and you can’t see the layout
    So yeah i like it =)

  11. sbfrank permalink
    November 21, 2009 01:57

    Well, almost everything I read is in a series. So, I guess that’s the main answer. But there are some authors, such as Ann Tyler, who I love their prose soooo much and the novel is so packed with pleasure that I will read all of their books and get to know loads of different characters. So, for me it’s more about author than anything else.

  12. sbfrank permalink
    November 21, 2009 01:57

    PS – Don’t enter me in the contest either, obviously. Slight conflict of interest there even if I didn’t have the book. 🙂

  13. November 21, 2009 01:57

    I’m not picky, I’ll read both. Some of my favorites book are part of a series, some are stand-alones. I care more about the quality of the book, anyway. 🙂

  14. November 21, 2009 01:57

    I’m a series reader from way back. I like being able to follow characters from story to story and see how they grow. It can create stories that can be read on different levels, with a depth you can’t find in a stand-alone book.

  15. Caitlin Usignol permalink
    November 21, 2009 01:57

    I am series book kinda girl. I like really getting involved in the world and characters that live in them. Usually, after one book I am dying for more.

  16. Shell Bryce permalink
    November 21, 2009 01:57

    I will read almost anything but truly love a good series… I like longer books to begin with and cringe at short novella’s when a great character is smothered into a quicky situation and ending.
    hockeyvampiress on twitter

  17. November 21, 2009 01:57

    I am the same! I love a series. I fall in love with the characters and the world. The more I read the more i want the story to never end. I would have to say the longer the series the better!
    Great contest! I’ve not read any of these. But I’m sooooo wanting to. They are on my Xmas wish list!
    Twitter: jojosbookcorner(at)Gmail(dot)Com

  18. November 21, 2009 01:57

    Oh I definitely love series! They draw you in and you keep wanting more. Right now I’m reading Shiloh Walker’s #10 in the Hunter series.

    trelainastarblazer AT yahoo dot com

  19. November 21, 2009 01:57

    I LOVE series… falling in love with characters and their fictional world, and knowing their story is not yet over, is priceless to me…

  20. November 21, 2009 01:57

    I love series for I always discover a secondary character that I like and want to read more about! Last month I was reading Lisa Kleypas’s Wallflowers and discover Cam in book 3 and I really wanted him to have his own story and yes he got his own story in book 1 of the spin off series The Hathaways yay!

    Twitter: marissa_roob

  21. November 21, 2009 01:57

    I forgot my twitter 😛

    its @larissa_sarah

    🙂

  22. November 21, 2009 01:57

    I like series better because the characters become more real and u get more into the story. that is my favorite part of reading books.

    twitter: gigib88

  23. November 22, 2009 01:57

    I’m all about series. I love stand alone novels, but I always want to know more. I am addicted to knowing more! I fall madly in love with the characters and stories in the series I follow and I love getting my heart broken along with them… I hate seeing them finish!

    My twitter is @RexRobotReviews (or rexreadingrobot @ gmail DOT com)

  24. Barbara Maller permalink
    November 22, 2009 01:57

    Whether I prefer a series or not depends on how much unlike the storylime and how attached I get to the characters. I like a series where each book can stand on its own. I have read stand-alone books in which I had so much emotion invested in the characters and story, I was so sad that it woulldnt continue. The longest series I’ve read was a police procedural romance series that contained 15 books. Each book, however, had enough back story to stand alone, but each was better read in sequence.
    Sorry to ramble on to this two word conclusion: it depends.

  25. November 22, 2009 01:57

    I love series. Your fav characters keep going and going. But — not the ones that just don’t know when to quit. @parajunkee

  26. November 22, 2009 01:57

    I prefer the stand alone. Why? Well, for one, it is impossible to find book 1 in the library! They have book 2, 3 8 and 12, but never 1! And then after reading book one, you have to read 2.. I don’t mind if “you” use the same characters, but leave the book stand alone!

    Twitter: @mitydad

  27. November 22, 2009 01:57

    I like following all the characters through a series, but from a purely financial point of view, stand-alones are highly preferred. And I hate waiting, so if a series isn’t strong enough, I won’t feel compelled to find all the other books.

  28. November 24, 2009 01:57

    I am a series hound, I often don’t feel like a book is “finished” if it’s a stand alone.

    @wickedlpixie

  29. November 24, 2009 01:57

    Series all the way, books are my written “Soap Operas” and cannot live without a daily dose. I love authors who continue their characters lives in series with 2ndry characters also getting the chance to shine for the fans.. I love Ann Aguirre and have been thinking of buying the Sirantha Jax books and not gotten around to it, to win the book “Doubleblind” will get me motivated and will get the rest….
    Looked around the other sites you mentioned and had a good time and bookmarked everyone so can return, thanks to the kind people who recycle books like this we all should do a better job of that.

    Congratulations on your Twitter following and your own book drawing wins. I enter a lot of these blog drawings and so far this year have won several from one of my favorite authors and am trying for more of hers….

    jacabur2008@gmail.com

    Jackie B Central Texas

    • November 24, 2009 01:57

      Hi Jackie, Thanks for the congrats!
      Who is your Favorite author? Got me curious with the end of your comment.

  30. November 24, 2009 01:57

    I do love series, but sometimes I need the cleanness of a single title stand alone. The series can overwhelm if you are starting after multiple books are out and feel the need to catch up quick.

    At first I liked this new publishing schedule that put out new series one book a month – like the Tessa Dare series, but with all the books on my TBR shelves I can never keep up with the series.

    I love them, but need that single book break in between sometimes.

  31. Diane permalink
    November 25, 2009 01:57

    I like stand alone books – audiotape or CDs, I listen at night, it relaxes me.

    twitter name: dianetowin

  32. Hazel permalink
    November 25, 2009 01:57

    I prefer stand alones because I like the feeling of completeness when I get to the end (assuming it is a good ending that is …)

  33. November 30, 2009 01:57

    Hi! I love finding new series to read because there is so much more the a series than a stannd alone book. The sub-plots and intricate weaving of storylines leaves me always wanting more!

    Twitter ID: Angieanything

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention New post & Chance to win a copy of Doubleblind by on my blog! -- Topsy.com
  2. Tweets that mention Contest: Doubleblind by Ann Aguirre (Jax Series #3) « -- Topsy.com
  3. Twitted by Susi_Sunshine
  4. Twitted by thebookjournal
  5. Guest Blog:The Genesis of Inspiration by Gary Ballard «

Leave a Reply

