Skip to content

New Releases I’m Looking Forward to in November & Then Some part 1!

November 3, 2009

I had planned on posting not only books that were released on 10/27 or (fairly) easily found in a bookstores that day even though their releases dates aren’t officially until 11/1-11/3 but also to show off books coming up in November – but that was days ago & now it’s already release day again (11/3) & I’m out of time. So I am going to do a few posts with one or more books I am really looking forward to you should run out to buy! :)All of which  release this month. Someone tell me why I didn’t think of this idea sooner?

Some of the books will be ones I am already expecting to receive in the mail because I purchased them (as is the case with our first book here today). Others will be ones I am still hoping to win or get from some wonderful friend who likes to pass along books after she’s finished with them – still other’s in a small group (probably no more than one in this group but there may be more) that I just can’t afford right now even with the 45% discount being offered at some retailers. 😦


So without further ado here’s…

Book #1

(most anticipated for me personally of debut authors to arrive on the scene in past couple of months)

Tempest Rising (First Book in the Jane True Series) by Nicole Peeler

Publisher: Orbit

Pages: 368

ISBN-10: 0316056588 & ISBN-13: 978-0316056588

Currently available: Target, Barnes and Noble, Borders, Amazon, Book Depository & some Indie-Sellers

Cover of Tempest Rising! Isn't it awesome? Wait til I show you cover for next book in series! (See Below)Paperback retail price: $7.99 (is on sale at* Book Depository for $1 off with free worldwide shipping,  more or less at a few other places)

Blurb:

In the tiny village of Rockabill, Maine, Jane True—26-year-old bookstore clerk and secret night swimmer—has no idea that her absent mother’s legacy is entry into a world populated by the origins of human myths and legends. It is a world where nothing can be taken for granted: vampires are not quite what we think; dogs sometimes surprise us; and whatever you do, never—ever—rub the genie’s lamp. For Jane, everything kicks off when she comes across a murder victim during her nightly clandestine swim in the freezing winter ocean. This grisly discovery leads to the revelation of why she has such freakish abilities in the water: her mother was a Selkie and Jane is only half human. With this knowledge, Jane soon finds herself mingling with supernatural creatures alternately terrifying, beautiful, and deadly—all adjectives that quite handily describe her new friend Ryu. When Ryu is sent to Rockabill to investigate the murder, he and Jane fall hard for each other even as they plummet into a world of intrigue threatening to engulf both supernatural and human societies. For someone is killing half-humans like Jane. The question is, are the murders the work of one rogue individual or part of a greater plot to purge the world of Halflings?

Other links of note relating to this much anticipated book:

Some Reviews:

Urban Fantasy Reader

Scifi Chick

The Road Not Taken

Writings of a Wicked Book Addict (Partially included because I love the word Wicked but is great review also)

You can find a bunch more reviews with links on Nicole Peeler’s website. She didn’t only link perfect glowing reviews either. They are all balanced and fair reviews. (I say fair right now but I reserve the right to change my opinion about how fair or not they are until after I have finished reading the book!)

Excerpt/First Chapter: Available here on Nicole Peeler’s Website

Upcoming Second Jane True Cover Preview and Links:

Peeler_Tracking-Tempest-MM2Tracking the Tempest

Is this not one of the most awesome book covers you have ever seen??? If I ever finally do get a tattoo I am heavily considering this cover!

There is an excerpt and blurb available for this one also but you will have to go over to Nicole’s blog to find it because I refuse to post possible spoilers here about a book I haven’t read yet! Can’t risk finding out something myself that I don’t already know!!! 😉

 

 

 

 

 

Now go buy Tempest Rising and support this new author who is super cool & has awesome taste in not only supernatural beings but cover artists too!

 

***Please consider going to or ordering online from your local  Indie Bookseller. I am really trying to do local or Indie-Seller only. I can’t always accomplish it due to personal financial reasons but I am trying. Here is the link to IndieBound to help you on your journey to an Indie-Seller only home. IndieBound.org will help you locate local Indie Stores selling the books you are looking for, give you a list of local Sellers in your area & if you can’t find the one you want locally will point you in the direction of another Indie-Seller who does have the book for online order in another part of the country. Nothing would make me happier than to save the local Indie-Sellers throughout the country. We are already only down to only a couple here in Miami.***

27 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2009 01:57

    I can’t wait to hear what you think about that one. I bought two books which are released today and already have a new list of books I missed and it’s not even 3pm here. I’m really getting poor.

    • November 3, 2009 01:57

      LOL Susi, You are too much! I have to love this one. I will just die if I don’t because I have been waiting with baited breath for it to come out and now I’m waiting for it to get here – UGHHH- too much waiting – so I have to love it! I’m pretty darn sure I will based on the excerpts I’ve read so that’s a good thing!
      :o) I just woke up – might not be quite awake enough to be responding to comments on my blog. LOL heading over to twitter now where my half-asleep-id-ness won’t be so noticeable!

  2. November 3, 2009 01:57

    I have never heard of Nicole Peeler before…. as Susi said, this release day is not good for me, I am broke, and now this… I like the blurb, although this is not what I read usual, I am going to check this out!

  3. November 3, 2009 01:57

    Thanks for wicked link forward! I have an interview up with Nicole right now.

  4. November 4, 2009 01:57

    (Pattepoilue here!)
    I’ve been looking at that cover for months, i wanted it the first time i saw that cover and read the excerpt. i don’t know what to do…should i order it now? or wait and see what reviews it gets? lol you have to realize that this is my attempt at being rational and not going into a book shopping frenzy (again)lol Tuesday are killing me

  5. November 4, 2009 01:57

    Purty Covers! What genre do these books fall into?

    • November 4, 2009 01:57

      Honestly I am not sure how to categorize it. I have heard it called Urban Fantasy but I am not sure that is the best genre “box” to stick it in. I’ll ask Nicole, the author what genre she refers to it as and get back to you. Regardless of the genre it sounds like such a good book and has a romance aspect to it too! Bringing the Selkies back to the world is an awesome idea. Many cultures had some form of Selkie myths but we never hear about them. Romance, Mythology & Mystery – its gotta be good!

  6. November 4, 2009 01:57

    Thanks! Haven’t read a good Selkie book in awhile – I’m due for another one 🙂

  7. November 4, 2009 01:57

    My copy should be here tomorrow!!! I get to read it probably by next weekend. I’ve also been looking forward to reading Tempest Rising, that cover just grabs you doesn’t it. 🙂

  8. November 4, 2009 01:57

    Tempest Rising sounds like a good one!! I can’t wait for your review. 🙂

  9. November 4, 2009 01:57

    I love her covers & the series looks great!!! I didn’t know info on #2 was out :O

  10. November 4, 2009 01:57

    Love the book covers too. I was at B&N yesterday and found myself picking the first book up, just because I loved the cover art. Not sure I’m interested in the selkie aspect, but I am intrigued.

  11. November 4, 2009 01:57

    Donna, It really is one of the best covers I have seen in a long time!

    Colette, You guys unfortuately will probably have to wait quite awhile for my review because I just found out yesterday that my book appears to be held up in the UK due to their Postal Strike! (How dare they strike when I am waiting for 5 books???) I ordered it from the UK based Book Depository thinking they had a distribution center in US also – but I was wrong. I swear I almost cried!

    Hi Mel! Glad I was able to introduce you to the book #2 info! Love bring news to my buddies!!! (Although I should probably stop yelling at you like this – I am sure you can hear me without all the “!!!” LOL)

    Kate, Intrigued is good. The myths of Selkies from around the world are pretty fascinating! So hopefully you will love the book (hopefully I will too, pretty sure I will, when I finally have it in hand!)

    And finally – seriously why did I pre-order thinking I would actually have it before release day? Never happens that way for me – just never does *Shakes Head*

  12. November 4, 2009 01:57

    I should be getting this one in the mail any day now and I’m sooo excited! 😀

  13. November 4, 2009 01:57

    Hello everybody!

    Thanks for all the interest! And thanks, my Book Obsessed Friend, for blogging about the release. And very sorry to hear of the postal strike. 😦 I lived in Edinburgh for six years and am well acquainted with those.

    In the meantime, for everyone who wants to see reviews of the book, I have all the ones that are currently up (that I’ve found) posted here:

    http://www.nicolepeeler.com/the-jane-true-series/tempest-rising/

    There are also reviews on Amazon, Goodreads, Borders, and Barnes and Noble. 🙂

    I’ll keep updating that page as the reviews roll in! And thanks again!

    • November 4, 2009 01:57

      Oh. MY. GAWD. Look everybody, Nicole Peeler stopped by my humble little blog and commented!!! *fans self* (I am suchhhh a fangirl!)

      Thanks for stopping by Nicole!!! You will surely hear about it when I finally receive my copy & post my review! 🙂

      Now all ya’ll who haven’t bought this book yet – go get it! – what are you waiting for???

  14. georgiamcbridebooks permalink
    November 4, 2009 01:57

    Thanks for sharing. I’ve been looking forward to this book since first learning about it. It has got to be one of the best covers, hands down, that I’ve seen in a few years. The next one, tops it. I’ve not read it yet but from what I have read of the exceprts, I’m betting Nicole is an author to watch, a voice that comes along once in a long time. I could be wrong, but I doubt it.

    • November 4, 2009 01:57

      I agree with you 100% in everything you just said. I am rarely wrong about the ones to watch in books or music and I say – Watch this star rise!

  15. November 5, 2009 01:57

    Don’t buy Nicole’s book! She’s a horrible influence on young minds. Plus, there’s bound to be really naughty language and sexxoring of the most scandalous sort! You’ve been warned!

    • November 5, 2009 01:57

      That comment so makes me want to return the copy of Tempest Rising that I ordered when it someday arrives…not! LOL

      It’s been a serious conflict between you two for me. I have loved Vamps since my teen reading days when all I read was Anne Rice’s Vampire Chronicles. On the other hand how cool is a Selkie heroine? I mean bringing back the Selkies – making modern lore come to life from an oft forgotten myth (or is it a myth?). Hard to choose – so I won’t! Ha! :)ogative

    • November 5, 2009 01:57

      Oh and OMG! Thank you for stopping by! That’s twice in one day I almost passed out from a bad case of *fangirldom*! 🙂

  16. November 9, 2009 01:57

    Thanks for the link love! Although I have to agree with Jaye, there’s naughty (i.e., hilarious!) language and scandalous sexxoring!!

  17. November 12, 2009 01:57

    Fascinating cover. If the book is anything like the cover, it will be a great read!
    GL

    • November 12, 2009 01:57

      I just finished the book last night and it is everything the cover promises it will be and more! I am keeping this one instead of passing it along because it is that good. Next week I hope to get caught up on reviews and then everyone will know all about it. Really unique story…so much I could say but then I’d have nothing left to say in review so for now – I’ll just say I highly recommend it!

Leave a Reply

