Skip to content

Announcements: 24hr Read-a-Thon, NaNoWriMo and more…

October 24, 2009

Tomorrow, 10/24/2009:

readthonreader

I will be participating in Dewey’s 24 hour Read-a-Thon. That’s right I will be reading pretty much non-stop for 24 hours straight and blogging about it as I go! If you haven’t signed up to for this awesome reading endurance event there is still time! Hop over there and sign-up. You do not have to do the entire 24 hours, you can customize how long, what and when you read. They even have positions for Cheerleaders! Cheerleaders are people who drop by readers blogs and cheer them on. There is a sign-up section for cheerleaders on the Dewey’s 24 hour Read-a-Thon page also. So if reading that much for that long sounds to daunting or you just can’t fit it into your schedule especially at this late date then consider being a cheerleader. Believe me we could use all the support we can get! You don’t sign up to be either a reader or an offical cheerleader check in often tomorrow to see what I am reading, what my thoughts are and how I am doing getting through my stack of books. I can definitely use the encouragement plus you might just find a ‘new to you’ book to add to your own personal TBR list. Shortly I will be posting the list of books I have chosen for the 24hr Read-a-Thon…so check back.

November 1 –  30th:

nano_09_blk_participant_120x240.png

I have finally given in and decided to participate in the 2009 Nanowrimo. What is Nanowrimo, you ask? It is National Write a Novel Month and it is a writing marathon with a goal of writing 50k words in 30 days! For a complete explanation please go here and read all about it. Lets just say it is absolutely crazy and a ton of fun – or so I am told. This will be my first year participating even though I have been thinking about it for years. I want to be a published author someday and the advice I hear over and over is “Write everyday.” What better way to kick start the habit of writing everyday than spending a month do little else? Besides think of the feeling of elation when December rolls around and you have reached or *gasp* even exceeded your goal. I’m ready. Are you? There is still time to join the madness that is NaNoWriMo. Just like with the Read-a-Thon if you are not ready to dive headlong into the abyss then you can always be a cheerleader. I think it may be even more valuable to have cheerleaders for NaNoWriMo than for the Read-a-Thon (Shhhh…just don’t tell the Read-a-Thon Peeps that I said that!)

November 9 – 13:

I will be hosting a week long guest bloggers event on author Denise Robbins’ blog while she prepares for her upcoming Mystery/Wine event. Denise a Techno-Romance Thriller author of the books Killer Bunny Hill and It Happens in Threes. You can read excerpts at her website. Joining me as Guest Bloggers will be, Michelle from Torch Under the Blanket Books, Crystal from ACTUALIZE, Jason from Jason Meyer’s Information and April from Cafe of Dreams. Seriously this is an amazing group of bloggers and you won’t want to miss a second of it, so mark your calenders NOW!

There are more announcements but I have not been given authorization to disclose yet so that’s all for now. Will update as soon as I can!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2009 01:57

    I think I posted my books too soon, because now i have to add more! Let me know how the Nanowrimo goes!

  2. October 24, 2009 01:57

    Your November will be really busy. I wish you luck with all your plans. I’m really admiring those who want to try this NaNoWriMo. Tschakka!

Leave a Reply

