Skip to content

I Got A Blogger Award From A Fellow Blogger!

October 23, 2009

This is my very first blog award given to me by a fellow blogger! I am so excited and honored that Colette chose me as one of the recipients.

This is the Honest Scrap award presented to me by my wonderful friend, Colette at A Buckeye Girl Reads. It is for those bloggers who write from the heart. The rules are to pass it along to seven bloggers and then list 10 honest things about myself.

Here are those deserving of this honor, bloggers who write from the heart and touch me because of it.

In my own words: I appreciate all of you and these are some of the reason- Many times you make me laugh, sometimes you make me contemplate life, the universe and even reality itself, sometimes you make me argue and defend a book I love that you don’t love (you know who I’m talking to here)  but always & especially I appreciate your honesty. I enjoy the time I spend reading your blogs with your unique  thoughts and ideas. I am grateful for all the time you take to review books, make recommendations and answer my questions. You are all terrific people that I am honored to have met. (And our conversations on Twitter can’t be beat!)

1. Susi from The Geeky Bookworm

2. Kenda from Lurv a la Mode

3. Caroline from One Book Away…

4. Katie from Katie Babbles About Books & More

5. Jodie  from JoJo’s Book Corner

6. Stacy from Stacy’s Place on Earth

7. Wendy from The Book Lush

**I know it is only meant to go to 7 other bloggers but I just have to do an Honorary Awarding to Book Pushers Anonymous! E_BookPusher, Has_Bookpusher  & Lou_BookPusher are great bloggers & offer some of the best twitter conversation I ever had! So Check out their Blog & Tweet them Hello – Let them know I sent you!

10 things about me:

1. I collect tea-pots, Llama sculptures (some are more like figurines) & Religious Symbols.

2. I was a Teen-Mother.

3. I cried at the end of the book Grimspace by Ann Aguirre

4. I love Deadliest Catch (bordering on addiction – I even visit the forums!)

5. When I am not reading I am usually watching History Channel International, The Discovery Channel or The Science Channel. But I’ll rarely pass up the chance to watch the Food Network.

6. I was born, raised and still live in Miami, Florida with the sun on my face & my feet in the sand!

7. When I was a Teenager & into my early 20’s I read books about Serial Killers (Fiction & Non-Fiction) because I was planning to become a FBI Profiler. (I even applied)

8. The other books that sat next to the ones above were Anne Rice’s Vampire Chronicles

. 9. I love paintings of Angels

10. I was a Free-Lance Wedding Planner while working a regular full-time job & going to school full-time until I was 25 and my body wouldn’t let me do it anymore.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2009 01:57

    Oh, thanks hon. You are so sweet! *hugs*
    Profiler and wedding planner? That’s just so strange. And I’m the crazy nutty one? LOL
    Lovely post!
    Made me smile.

  2. October 23, 2009 01:57

    Thank you so much for the reward!
    Hugs
    Has

  3. October 23, 2009 01:57

    You were a wedding planner? I don’t know how you did it. I cant imagine the fun stories you must have!!

    • October 23, 2009 01:57

      Well I was a free-lance planner which means it wasn’t a constant thing. I didn’t advertise or anything it was all word of mouth and a bunch of my friends got married at that time in my life and I did all of theirs for free. Others I did get paid for though. I loved doing it so free or paid I was happy because I love weddings! The cheapest one I ever did had a budget of $800 including the bride’s dress. The most expensive was $10,000 and it was amazing!!! I probably do have a few stories in me from the wedding experiences. There is always something interesting at a wedding. LOL

      The experiences came in very handy in many of my jobs especially when I worked for Bacardi in the Marketing dept for Bombay Sapphire Gin! I was an assistant & a great deal of my time was spent coordinating events, which was tons of fun also!!!

      So I guess my favorite thing to do is party/event planning of any sort. I didn’t realize how much I missed that stuff until you asked that question & I got all excited!

  4. October 23, 2009 01:57

    Aw thanks *blush*

  5. October 23, 2009 01:57

    Awwww. Thank you! My first !!!
    An FBI profiler…..that would be a great feeling job. Wedding planner…..would be a blast,but to many brides I wouldn’t be able. Deal with. Thank you again!
    Also how does this work? Do I just copy the pic to do my own?

    • October 23, 2009 01:57

      Jodi,
      One of the reasons I didn’t pursue the profiler job was because I didn’t think I could handle “being inside” those peoples heads. You have to be able to think like them and have an idea of what their next move would be & sometimes why it would be that move – it was to scary and depressing. With a book you close it and they go away when it’s your job its always with you. The good part would be the catching & stopping the bad guys but some get away. I just couldn’t deal – changed paths after first class – went into sociology instead some similarities but not so sad.

      Wedding planning was a trip! Lots of fun and non-stop action. I thankfully never had to deal with any of those completely wacko brides like you see on “Bridezillas” but I had to deal with many, many mothers & aunts & even fathers of the brides & grooms and of course a ridiculous amount of crazy maids of honor! You would be amazed poorly people can behave in the name of the “PERFECT” wedding.

  6. October 23, 2009 01:57

    Wow, thank you! That’s very sweet of you 🙂 I am horrible at these things, but I’ll try to make a special effort since you were ever so kind. Will try to work on this by tomorrow.

    Thanx again.

    • October 23, 2009 01:57

      There’s no rush! It took me about a month to do mine so take your time!!!

  7. K.C. aka smokinhotbooks permalink
    October 23, 2009 01:57

    Did you redo your blog?!!! I like the colors. Congrats on your awards.

  8. e_bookpushers permalink
    October 23, 2009 01:57

    Thanks :D. I enjoy chatting with you on twitter too and you certainly make me think!

  9. October 23, 2009 01:57

    Ohhhh thank you for the award it goes right to my heart!
    i’m really sorry i fell asleep before you posted it *puppy eyes*

    I wanted to become a Profiler too until Highschool!
    And wow wedding planner…seriously i could never bare the pressure.

    Thank you again =D *hugs* i’ll be back after school *waves*

Trackbacks

  1. Twitter Trackbacks for I Got A Blogger Award From A Fellow Blogger! « Book Obsessed [bookobssessed.wordpress.com] on Topsy.com
  2. uberVU - social comments

Leave a Reply

