Skip to content

Book Blogger Appreciation Week Contests, Giveaways & Thoughts…

September 16, 2009

This week September 14 – 18 is Book Blogger Appreciation Week (BBAW). All over the blogsphere there are contests, giveaways, interviews and blog partying  happening in honor of BBAW. I have been attempting for the past day or so to compile a good list of these happenings to share with everyone. Then I discovered via Kindling Romance that there is a pretty comprehensive  list that already exists on the Official BBAW site, click here to find the list of giveaways.

All the contests and giveaways are great but to me one of the best parts of BBAW is the introductions to so many great blogs that I might never have found on my own. Through these blogs I am finding new-to-me authors and adding to my TBR list. Then when I read the books I found out about from these great blogs I will be posting reviews here and then you may find some new-to-you authors and new characters to fall in love with. In the end more people will end up buying books and helping the authors who work so hard (for so little) to continue being able to write the books we want to read & blog about. BBAW has something for all of us – readers, bloggers, authors and even publishers. So as when you pop over to one of the 113 or so listed blogs don’t just enter the contests/giveaways and then move onto the next link. Take your time to browse the blog, read some reviews and check out some authors. You might just find something you didn’t even know you were looking for.

Here are a few of my favorite book blogs: (in no particular order)

Fantasy Dreamers Ramblings

Smexy Books

The Neverending Shelf

A Buckeye Girl Reads Thank you Colette for this idea & for putting me on your list!

Stacy’s Place on Earth

Book Pushers Anonymous

Smokin Hot Books

My Fluttering Heart

Lurv A La Mode

Parajunkee Views

Errant Dreams Reviews

Here are just a few of the Blogs that I discovered thanks to BBAW:

The Book Smugglers

A Novel Menagerie

Literary Escapism

One Librarian’s Book Reviews

A Striped Armchair

I hope this weeks BBAW events lead you to new favorite blogs, new authors, new wonderful people and stories that you don’t want to end.

Cheers,

Heather

***Don’t forget to check out the Book Blogger Appreciation Week page.***

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2009 01:57

    I’m happy you discovered me! 🙂

  2. September 16, 2009 01:57

    Thank you for the shout out. 🙂 I wish I could take credit for the idea, but it wasn’t mine-it was all apart of BBAW week. 🙂

    • September 16, 2009 01:57

      Well I saw it on your blog so I stole it from there and ran with it! 🙂

  3. September 16, 2009 01:57

    Thank you! Now I’m smiling like a cheshire cat. 😀 I’m glad we hooked up in the blogging world & Twitter!

    • September 16, 2009 01:57

      So am I!!! And I will never forget that you were my very first commenter! If it weren’t for you and at Kate at The Neverending Shelf I wouldn’t be on Twitter at all.

      Big Hugs!
      Heather

  4. September 19, 2009 01:57

    I love the names of these book blogs! Some of them are LOL. Many thanks for your kind comment on my post at BBAW today… and thanks for loving books so much. I also wish you luck with your own writing. Such a tough road, but there’s nothing like it, is there?
    xo
    Sarah

    • September 19, 2009 01:57

      Hi Sarah,
      Thank you for checking out my blog and commenting! I can’t wait to read your book when it comes out. I am also looking forward to chatting with you on twitter. I am sure your book will be a success and you be getting lots of blog love in the coming months!

      All the best,
      Heather

      *Note to everyone else: This is my very first published author comment! ::Everybody Dance Now::

  5. September 19, 2009 01:57

    Really? I’m thrilled to be your first (I’m dancing! But I’m really uncoordinated and have no rhythm. You would not want to see me right now)

  6. Smokinhotbooks permalink
    September 22, 2009 01:57

    I finally made it to your blog!!!! So happy to make your frequent list *happy tears* Great list, I must check out some of the new blogs you mentioned!

    Smooches KC

    • September 23, 2009 01:57

      Your blog was one of the first blogs I read. I found Kate at The Neverending Shelf and she referred me to you! Around the same time I started reading Fantasy Dreamer’s Ramblings & Lizaanne at Words All Day Thru…and from there I became addicted to blog-hopping and Twitter! :O) Of course that was all after I got over being jealous of how cool looking your blog is & how great your reviews are. ;o)

      Big Hugs! Heather

Leave a Reply

