Skip to content

WordPress vs. Blogger?

September 1, 2009

I can’t decide whether I should keep this blog on WordPress or move over to Blogger.

I am having all sorts of issues with the weird formatting quirks of WP and it does not have any option for a “Follow-Me” button. Plus it appears that you have to upgrade and pay for many of the things that Blogger already comes with. There are widgets I could technically add to make to my WP page more functional, but when I say technically I mean they are available but I may or may not be capable of actually adding them because each widget requires several steps to add. Basically there is nothing  simple about it and they charge for things that appear to be free on other sites.

Blogger seems to be very simple and has so many options – not to mention the “Follow-Me” button! But I have heard that you risk losing readers if you switch and I am just starting to get readers. Should I stay where I am or pack up my blog and move?

Any suggestions or advice?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2009 01:57

    I’ve never used WordPress but I’ve heard the pros & cons for using both it Blogger. Smokinhotbooks uses WordPress (I think) and she has a Google Friends plugin, you could check it out. I don’t know if it’s charged for or free.

    http://smokinhotbooks.com/blog/

    • hlhosteh permalink*
      September 2, 2009 01:57

      Thanks Donna! I checked out her site and yes she does have one of the paid service – it’s easy to see them with WP because the free ones all have and web address that ends in “wordpress.com. In this case they have a dedicated domain. That’s why it shows up as smokinhotbooks.com. But I emailed her to see if she can offer any advice. Thanks again!

  2. Mom permalink
    September 10, 2009 01:57

    I am on blogspot.com through gmail and it is really easy.

Leave a Reply

