Skip to content

Welcome to Book Obsessed! If you love books you have come to the right place!!!

June 29, 2009

This blog is dedicated to my obsession with the written word – as the name implies. Here I will review and discuss books, post book related news and sale or promotional information on where to find the best prices for some of the books. (The only time I will deviate from books specifically is to offer up my opinion on what song or soundtrack would be perfect background music for a specific book – since music is my other obsession) There is no specific genre that I am absolutely loyal to – I go through phases so there may be many books from the same genre in a row or there may be books from all over the place – from SciFi to non-fiction. I am indiscriminate in my appetite for stories, words, books, e-books, audio books…gimme-gimme-gimme! However I do have a particular affinity for series’ – I love long series because if I fall in love with a cast of characters I don’t want it to say good-bye. Sometimes I just hate it when I am getting to the end of a novel – I try to slow-my-roll and draw it out (unless I know there is another one with the same characters just around the bend and then I plow forward!). I do not like series where each book is the story of a different character from the first book – I think that is a cop-out. I will usually read one book in the “series” and just be done with it because the following stories never live up to the first…but hey that’s just me…from what I have seen many authors are very successful with that type of story telling and I am happy for them – I just won’t be spending my money on those books. Right now I am on an Urban Fantasy & Vampire Kick – but last week I did read a book about ghosts/telepathy/telekenisis and one that is part of a mainstream thriller The Sisterhood: Rules of the Game series by Fern Michaels that I have been following for about a year now.

Just so you know I read anywhere from 2-4 books per week…yes, I do have an insane amount of time on my hands. That is due to being disabled and practically home-bound. (Although even when I was working 40 hrs a week I was reading at least 2 books a week – I read fast and used my smoke breaks, lunch breaks and any downtime at home to read.) I have Fibromyalgia, severe nerve damage in my lower back/left leg and Cataplexy that have conspired to take me out of the work force (though if my disability application doesn’t come through soon I may have to suffer (and I do mean suffer) through trying to keep at least a part time job – gotta support my book habit after all! I have lost 3 jobs due to excessive doctors appointment, having to take days off because I literally couldn’t walk and inability to luge around whatever crap my boss felt was beneath them to carry themselves (I was an Admin. Assistant – enough said!). I will not be discussing my conditions here because this page is just for fun escapism! I have set up another blog called Living in a House of Cards to discuss everything else including my conditions and you can find it here: livingahouseofcards.wordpress.com I just set it up today so there are no posts yet but there will be shortly.

I hope you enjoy my book blogging as much as I enjoy my book reading!

Cheers,

Heather

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

