Skip to content

24 Hour Read-a-Thon Update #2 & Mini-Challenges

October 10, 2010

Well let’s see, what have I done in the past few hours?

I’ve read another 62 pages of An Artificial Night by Seanan McGuire. I know that’s not much but, I’ve had some interruptions like:

#1- Phone calls from other children’s parents asking when the SAT testing is over & if I am going to pick up the kids. Answer to that is ‘I don’t know’ and’ Yes, I’ll pick them up, when they call’.

#2- Husband who’s not thrilled with the 24hr Read-a-Thon, because I was such a mess afterwards last year. I told him I was taking it easy this year & him seemed somewhat appeased.

Kashmir fell asleep reading Interview with the Vampire.

#3- Kashmir, our female cat has an injured paw and that is a distraction all its own. She’s my girl – follows me around like a little shadow. Now she’s limping (much like me) & refuses to stay in one place, everytime I get up she jumps off her pillow to follow me. Then whines because it hurts. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

#4 – I entered the {Indie}Pendent Books Challenge to show pictures of and/or tell them about ย the Indie or Small Press books we’ve read or are reading for the read-a-thon. I posted twice with 2 different pictures, if you want to see my smiling face go click on the link above & scroll through the comments. ๐Ÿ˜€

Here's Mooshka with the stack of books I pulled out for the Read-a-Thon.

#5 – Above is my entry for the “Show Me the Books” mini-challenges on the My Reading Room blog. Mooshie luvs books, his favorite place to relax is wherever I have a stack of books, so naturally he had to jump into the picture. I used this pic instead of the pic without him because seriously doesn’t adding a cat to any picture make it better? I think it does. ๐Ÿ™‚

That’s all the news fit to print right now. Off to pick-up the teenage academics and provide full taxi services. (Maybe I’ll read at red lights? Just don’t tell my Hubby – he’ll freak – cuz I’m driving his new car.)

Talk to you soon. ย ~BookObsessedGrl

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2010 01:57

    aww…poor Kashmir. Having a hurt paw can’t be any fun-for anyone. Good luck reading-I’m just about to get started.

    • October 10, 2010 01:57

      Hi! Thank you! Thank you for being my first Cheerleader! ๐Ÿ˜€
      We haven’t taken Kashmir to the vet yet, it just happened yesterday, & looks like she yanked her claw out down to the nub. There’s no open wound & she only screams when we touch the swollen part around the “toe?”, so we’re giving it a few days & nursing her. She has stopped following me so that’s a bit concerning – hopefully it doesn’t mean she’s feeling worse. If she doesn’t act like herself tomorrow – it’ll be off to the vet.

      Good Luck with your reading. I will stop by soon to cheer you on too! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. October 10, 2010 01:57

    Sounds like you’re having a good Read-a-Thon, despite all the distractions. Here’s hoping you get even more reading done today!!!

    • October 10, 2010 01:57

      I am having fun and going with the flow, enjoying the ride. ๐Ÿ˜€ Thank you for stopping by to cheer, the support is much appreciated!

  3. October 10, 2010 01:57

    1, 2, 3, 4
    Hope your book isnโ€™t a bore
    5, 6, 7, 8
    And your readathon is going great!

  4. October 10, 2010 01:57

    Wow! You’ve done a lot since the start of the read-a-thon. Poor kitty. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ You guys take care of yourselves.

  5. October 10, 2010 01:57

    Congrats on winning a prize! Your TBR piles are impressive. The picture of your cat is precious as well. Happy Reading!

  6. January 3, 2011 01:57

    Yes, Mooshi does add a definite edge to the photo! How do I enter the contests and put book suggestions? I will, kif you email me! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment