Skip to content

Winners, Cats, Photo-Art, Music & Awards!

January 16, 2010

Sorry that I have been M.I.A. since the New Year began - it has been one thing after another going wrong. Mostly the going wrongs were computer issues, some of it was due to being sick and unable to concentrate while sick! I have barely been able to get online for the past two weeks. In the past few days I finally wiped my entire hard drive and upgraded to a new operating system. The computer seems to be much happier with it’s new Win7 OS verses its previous Windows Vista - so I am happier too. Now that you know where I have been,  grab a cup of coffee, tea or soda – whatever you prefer and settle in for one longggg post! I’ll wait while you get settled…just shout when your ready…    

Lady Kashmir and her consort Mooshka fell asleep while waiting for you to get ready.

humm, hummmm, da, da, da, le, le, la…ta, da, le, he, ha…… (Don’t mind me I am just singing a little ditty to myself while I wait for you to get settled in.)    

Okay, Okay! I’ll stop! You can uncover your ears now. Sorry…I know I can’t carry a tune in a bucket. (I have not idea how the cats slept through my singing.)    

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 Oh, your ready? Great! Well, then lets get started!    

Like I said this is going to be one long post. I need to catch-up on a bunch of things and rather than do several different posts I am going to do them all at once here! :) Okay, well that’s not entirely true – I changed my mind…I was going to include all the 2010 Challenges I have joined in this post but I think that deserves its own post, so I’ll do that seperate.    

First, let mean update on the events that were scheduled for last week. Between computer issues, me and half my household being sick and author’s having sick families or being sick themselves things didn’t come together as originally planned. 

 Here’s the new plan:

Carrie Lofty, author of Scoundrel’s Kiss – which hit bookstore shelves on 01/05/10 stopped by yesterday. She wrote a guest blog about the five things that surprised her while writing Scoundrel’s Kiss and is generously giving away a signed copy of the book! To read Carrie’s guest blog click here.

 

 

 

My interview with Keith Melton, author of the Vampire/Mafia novel, Blood Vice will be up later today and he will be giving away an e-book copy of  Blood Vice to one lucky commenter. It is a Big Day on the blog, something for everybody! 

 

 

 

Last but not least, my Hub’s reviews of the three Eric Nylund books in the Halo Series will be posted as a surprise! As soon as he gives them to me they will be posted. In his defense he was sick also and he does have a full-time job that is insane during the months of December and January, so we won’t be too hard on him for not turning them in on time. ;)    

 

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And now it’s time to let the cat out of the bag…    

Hamlet is has been waiting to for me to announce the winners.

Hamlet a.ka. Hammie, has been waiting in that bag since Midnight on January 2 to find out who won their very own e-copy of  Heather Long’s novel, Prime Evil and the Zombilicious, New Year’s Eve Zombie Style Prize Pack  from author, Nancy Holzner which includes a copy of her debut novel, Deadtown! I think  it is way past  time to let this cat out of the bag…    

The winners are…    

Melissa (@MelLHay)  - Winner of Prime Evil by Heather Long    

INCiDeNt (@INCiDeNT_Zinc) – Winner of The Deadtown Prize Pack    

Congratulations to both of you!     

Please either leave an email address in the comments section or contact take me on Twitter - @BookObsessedGrl to give me your information so I can get these prizes out to you!    

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~    

     

But wait that’s not all…    

(remember, you were warned this would be a long post)    

     

Now it’s awards time!     

* I do not require that anyone participate in this meme or pass these along – I am giving them because I think they are deserved – so don’t feel like you are have to participate out of obligation because there is none. Of course if you want to participate you are quite welcome. :D *

   

I am woefully behind in acknowledging the awards I have won over the past few months and passing those awards along to other bloggers. I am about to remedy that situation…right…NOW…    

* I am going to try not to have duplicates but may not be able to avoid them in some instances. *    

    

This award was given to me by two bloggers, Larissa of Larissa’s Life and Sagi of Sagi’s Randomness!    

Here are the rules for passing along this award:    

  • Accept this award, add the badge above and post about it on your blog with the name (link) of the person who granted it to you.
  • Name 5 Blogs you think are Kick-Ass and write why. Don’t forget to let them know that you have Awarded them.

 #1  JoJosBookCorner    

Why? Because her blog is just straight up fun! She does Saturday Delights – which are fantastic receipies, she knows how and where to find pictures of hotties and her Vlogs are awesome. She’s adorable, funny and has great taste in books. What’s not Kick-Ass about JoJo’s Blog would be a better question…huh, can’t think of anything that isn’t Kick-Ass there!    

#2  Wicked Little Pixie    

Why? Because her reviews are wicked cool, thoughtful and honest. Her non-review posts often make you think and although I don’t always remember to comment on them, are usually discussion worthy. I love most of the same books she does and I LOVE her header!    

#3  Smexy Books    

Why? Because when you read her blog you can feel the passion she has for reading, for the characters she loves and the ones she hates. She tells it like it is and is always fair and balanced. When she loves a book you can’t help but want to go out an get it as soon as possible, because her excitment is contagious (though I am still not sure I could get into were-snakes – just sayin’). Her posts are thoughtful, funny, a joy to read and of course totally SMEXY. Plus she loves The Killers and I think of her now everytime I hear ANY of their songs. ;)

#4 Book Chick City    

Why? Because she is true to herself. When she decided to announce that she would primarily be focusing on the kind of books she loves instead of accepting any books sent to her I was inspired by her strength and conviction. She has the absolute best Challenges – hands down best on the internet! Her reviews cover all of the important information, with her opinions in an honest and clear way. I just enjoy her blog. Plus she had me as a guest blogger…hehe

#5 Daily Dose     

Why? Because it is Heather Long! Do I really need to say more than that? She is absolutely awesome and so is her blog! Her posts are fun and thoughtful. The header is my absolute favorite and I plan to get some t-shirts from her Cafe-Press store with that header on the front! She’s a great author and a sweet person  – just read her blog and you will see how her personailty and abilities shines through. Plus she has great taste in books, we don’t always agree but she always makes me take a second look at why I feel the way I do about a certain book. :)

     

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~    

     

This award was presented to me by Sagi from Sagi’s Randomness. Previously awarded to me by Collette at A Buckeye Girl Reads and you can read my answers and who I awarded it to before, by entering “awards” into the blog search.  (hope there are no repeats)
 
 
Well, the Honest Scrap works like this. I will list 10 true things about myself and then tag 10 more blogs to go through the process. So, let’s get started.
  
1. I am 33 years old and have two daughters, 17 years old and 13 years old – you do the math. ;)
 
2.  I have Fibromyalgia and it sucks. Sometimes fighting it takes all the energy I have & sometimes I lose the fight.
  
3. I made one promise to myself when I became a teen-mother: I would get a college degree regardless of what direction my life took.
 
4. In my spare time since I study religions. I have been doing so since I was 12 years old.
  
5. I have 1 year left of school to finish my BA in Sociology and Psychology.
  
6. I want to be a professor eventually of Sociology or Theology. (Once I have my Masters Degree and potentially PHD.)
 
7.  The best medicine for me is a trip to a beach. Any beach sooths my soul.
 
8. I haven’t read any YA books since I was 12 years old, but started Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl – will be reading it over the next week.
 

9.  A book that changed my outlook on life is: I Will Not Die an Unlived Life by Dawna Markova

 

10. I am only 4 foot, 10 inches tall and by a law inacted in the US about 10 years ago I am “technically” consider a midget (any full grown adult under 5 feet tall – was the new wording they added). ;) I am called “Midge” by some friends as a nod to my small stature.

 
This award goes to the following bloggers for being honest with their readers, honest with themselves and for doing it their own way well, while making people stop and think:
 
#1 - Babbling About Books and More
#2 - Lurv a la Mode 
#3 – The Book Journal
#4 – Book Chick City
#5 -  Satisfaction for Insatiable Reader
#6 – Cafe of Dreams
#7 – Monkeybear Reviews
#8 – Strickly Reviews
#9 – Intense Whisper  
#10 – Lilium’s Realm 

    

 
 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

   

 
 
 

    

This award was given to me by Collette at  A Buckeye Girl Reads and by Sagi at Sagi’s Randomness. Thank you both so much for this award – it is the best compliment anyone could possibly give me and at a time when I haven’t been feeling well and have had so much stress it really helped to make me feel better – for that I am eternally grateful.

   

What to do: 
List 10 things that make you happy. 
Try and do at least one of them today.
Tag 10 bloggers that brighten your day.
Link back to the person that tagged you.
 
My 10 Things:
1. My husband and kids. (That’s true not just an “oh, I should say this” statement.)
2. Reading – especially discovering debut authors & new to me authors
3. My cats –  Kashmir, Moosh (Mooshka) & Hamlet (Hammie) *we have 4 but 1 is my daughter’s & will leave w/her*
4. Music – especially discovering new music – music is a part of my soul & I can’t live without it.
5. Making new friends
6. Learning new things
7. Thai Food
8. Art
9. Writing (though sometimes it makes me quite unhappy to as I pull my hair out over phrasing)
10.  Words – I love words. – I’ve always wanted to paint the walls with quotes & have a cake with words all over it.
 
The 10 bloggers that brighten my day:
(Sagi & Collette should be on this list, because they definitely brighten my days, but then we’d have a never ending loop – so they aren’t listed.) *Everyone listed below, has listened while I whine, gave me cheer when I couldn’t find my own, always says hello and generally just makes me smile when I talk/tweet with them. Plus one special one even made me a “Book Pimp” badge for my blog (to be unveiled soon)*

 1. Larissa – Larissa’s Life    

2. Jodie -   JoJosBookCorner    

3. Susi – The Geeky Bookworm    

4. Joely -  Joely Sue Burkhart
 
5. Has -  The Book Pushers  

 6. E – The Book Pushers    

 7. Jackie - My Ever Expanding Library          

8. Mel – He Followed Me Home…Can I Keep Him?
  
9. Caroline – One Book Away From Heaven  

 10. MelLKay - My World
 
 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 
 

Rules for Award:    

1. Thank & post URL to the blog that gave the award.
2. Pass the award along to 4 brilliantly Over The Top blogs. Alert them so they know to receive the award!
3. Copy & paste the quiz-Answer with ONE word only.

Thanks to Sagi at Sagi’s Randomness for this terrfic award!    

Quiz:
Your cell phone? I don’t have a cell phone. :( I do have an iPod Touch though which is almost as good!
Your hair? Blonde by nature, Red(ish) by Clariol. :) Mostly straight.
Your mother? Lives in North Carolina w/my Dad, Sister & her family
Your father? Lives – as stated above and is a Starbucks Manager
Your favorite food? Thai Food
Your dream last night? I don’t remember.
Your favorite drink?  Tea, but lately I am addicted to Mountain Dew Throwback – But I hate reg Mountain Dew
Your dream/goal? To be successful in all I do and get my degree.
What room are you in? Patio
Your hobby? Reading
Your fear? Not really living.

Where do you want to be in 6 years? On the coast of somewhere beautiful.

Where were you last night? Home 
Something that you aren’t? Static
Muffins? Love them – its like a cupcake for breakfast.

Wish list item? A Mac!

Where did you grow up? Miami
Last thing you did? Talked to Sagi on the phone & watched MonsterQuest on History Channel
What are you wearing? Comfies
Your TV? Flat Screen
Your Pets? 3 Cats
Friends? I collect them. ;)
Your life? Busy
Your mood? Stressed and wondering why I decided to do this long post?!
Missing someone? Sometimes – yup…that’s my answer
Vehicle? Don’t have one of my own.
Something you’re not wearing? A jacket – finally! LOL
Your favorite store? Restoration Hardware, because they have weird, interesting stuff
Your favorite color? Purple
When was the last time you laughed? this morning
Last time you cried? This morning at a news report.
Your best friend? Shel
One place that you go to over and over? Naples, FL
Facebook? Yes
Favorite place to eat? A pizza place physically on Ft. Lauderdale beach. Awesome! – mostly because of environment.  

I pass this award to the following bloggers:

1. My Fluttering Heart

2. Enchanted by Books

3. Smokin’Hot Books

4.  A Buckeye Girl Reads

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 Fantasy Made Real:

Robin, over at Intense Whisper made this amazing, whimsical picture of me. She is a very talented artist. She also did pictures of a whole bunch of bloggers and you must go see them! Some of the images she did of Jodie (JoJosBookCorner) are just incredible! (The link will lead you to the first set of pictures of Jodie, then you have to click through the Real Fantasy series to see all of them.)

 

Last but not least, MUSIC!

 I got an iPod Touch for Christmas from my Hubs and by giving me this gift he gave me back my music. Its not the highest capacity one (but seriously how many people actually have enough music to fill the largest one?), plus it is bigger than my 5 year old one – which amazingly still works, even if it is a bit wonky sometimes. The point is…I finally got to download some new music by some singers/bands I love and I wanted to share a couple that I have been listening to a lot lately. These are songs that have struck a cord with me, they were my companions while I was sick and could barely even read. Each of these songs tell a story just like the books we read, only they are poetry set to music and they are stories I feel blessed to get to hear.

The Music in My Head: A Mixtape

All I Have by Mat Kearny

Fire and Rain by Mat Kearny

New York to California by Mat Kearny

You Found me by The Fray

I love this song, but HAD to include this particular video for it, instead of the regular one, because I can’t wait for LOST to return! Wonderful video for any LOST fan!

Never Say Never by The Fray

Lifeboats by Snow Patrol

No mixtape or playlist made by me would be complete without some Snow Patrol & this is my current favorite by them.

Sunshine (Hidden Track) by All American Rejects

The Wind Blows by All American Rejects

A Dustland Fairytale by The Killers

The one below is for Mandi (SMEXY) and also for Nicole Peeler for mentioning this song in her book Tempest Rising – making me *squeee* like a the little fangirl I really am. It is not a new song, or even new to me, but I love this version and listen to it all the time. There’s just something about it…

Romeo and Juliet by The Killers

 

 

Class dismissed! Thanks for hanging in there with me for this marathon post. I promise to keep these to a minimum!!!

Cheers,

BookObsessedGrl

 

 

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2010 01:57

    LOVED your posta nd you know I love your blog hon! Thank you sooooooo much for the award!!! I need to make an awards post soon too =0)))

    I loved your truths and I love you!!!

    Congrats to the Contests winners yay!!!!!!!!!!!

    and congrats to you for all the awards, you sooooooooooooo deserve them!!!

    MWUAH!

  2. January 16, 2010 01:57

    Thank you Heather for the award! You are one of those persons that make me happy! So congratulations on the awards =) You totally deserve them.

    Never say Never made me cry…well i shouldn’t be surprised most of the Fray’s songs make me cry. Oh and Romeo & Juliet song is one of my favorite Killer songs ;)

    I’m just like you Heather, i need music. Maybe as much as books. Every day i listen to the music i love and I sing in the car (really badly i must admit)

  3. January 16, 2010 01:57

    Thank you so much for the award Heather-and congratulations on all of yours-you totally deserve them. They do tend to pile up after awhile, don’t they? :) I’m glad you and your pc are feeling better! I’ve missed seeing you around.

  4. January 16, 2010 01:57

    Thank you for the opportunity to be a winner!! My email: vimto.syn@googlemail.com I’m not sure what your email is so I can’t give you my physical addy yet. ;)

    Loved the cat pictures – remind me of mine — esp. with their falling asleep postures!

    Congrats to the peeps who received awards!

  5. January 17, 2010 01:57

    Win7 is amazing, I’m obsessed with the themes instead of the old skool backgrounds! LOL I sit on the couch and stare at the bubble screen saver! I’m pathetic! lol

    Ty ty for the award, you’re so sweet :)

    And I lurve the kitty pic!

  6. January 17, 2010 01:57

    You really did get a lot of items covered in the post.

    I really learned a lot about you in the awards you posted. First I want to thank you for the award, I am going to have to get this posted up at my blog. Thank you.

    Then I want to thank you for the Prime Evil win! Sweet!

    I have to say I love the music too!

  7. January 17, 2010 01:57

    Mwua!! Thanks hun for the appreciation award! Btw… love the kitties!

  8. January 17, 2010 01:57

    oh YAY *HUGS YOU* thank you so much for the award, deer!! <3

    it will go so nicely on my shelf..i've never received that one before!
    I hope you mean over the top in a good way! :) xx

    -Aimee
    http:?/myflutteringheart.blogspot.com

  9. January 17, 2010 01:57

    Aw thanks for the awards and for your lovely comments x

    Congrats on all your awards too, you totally deserve them! Love the kitty pics – I just love cats and may be getting another one soon, yay! I hope you are feeling a lot better now, it’s crappy being sick.

    Great post, really enjoyed reading it :)

  10. January 18, 2010 01:57

    Congrats to the winners!!
    And thanks for the award hon and I have to say GMTA cuz I scheduled a post for yday and I’m here to tell you:

    I’ve got a surprise for you at my blog.

    LOL. Loved your answers by the way.

  11. January 18, 2010 01:57

    Heather! Thank you so much for the kind words!!!!!!

    Dustland Fairytale….such a good song.

    And their take on Romeo and Juliet..I love the line – hey now, my boyfriend’s back. Sigh..Brandon Flowers.

    You totally made my day!! :) :) :)

  12. kmont permalink
    January 18, 2010 01:57

    Sorry I’m late, but thank you for the award! I really appreciate it! :D

  13. January 19, 2010 01:57

    *wipes brow* That was a long post. ;) But I enjoyed it and your award answers!

    Congrats on the awards!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

