Skip to content

September 2009 Book Releases!

September 1, 2009

Today is the first day of September which marks the beginning of the Big Fall Book Season. Woo-Hoo!!! Word on the street (or around the web & trade mags as the case may be) is that this year is going to be one of the BIGGEST book seasons EVER! Could there possibly be better news for those of us who are Book Obsessed (or worse news for our poor wallets)?? Here is a list of a lot of the new books coming out this month, but this is only a small sample of what is actually going to be out there this month. I have noted what formats I was able to find each of the books in, but some may be available in other formats that I just couldn’t find. It’s sort of a mixed bag of genre’s though many fall into the Urban Fantasy category. Each book cover has a link to where you can buy the books, some titles have links to reviews and some also have links to other books in the same series. Click on the author’s name to go to their website, click on the word “review” if it is highlighted and it will take you to a review of the book. Let me know if you pick up any of them and what you thought. I have not read any of these books myself (since I haven’t figured out how to get ARC’s yet) so there are no endorsements – I’ll be reading right along with you and posting reviews as I go. Enjoy!

P.S. Please excuse the strange formatting. WordPress has some formatting restrictions that do not work with my formatting ideas. :)

09/01

Mustlovehellhounds

Must Love Hellhounds Anthology - by Ilona Andrews, Charlaine Harris , Nalini Singh , Meljean Brook  (Paperback& Kindle E-Book Only)

This book includes four brand new novellas including ‘Magic Mourns’ which is part of Ilona Andrews’ Kate Daniels Series and if like me you are a fan then you must read this novella because it takes place between book 3 ‘Magic Strikes’ and the upcoming, much anticipated but way to far off book 4 ‘Magic Bleeds’. Don’t get me wrong I love the other authors that round out this awesome quartet – it’s just that it’s killing me to know the next Kate Daniels novel won’t be out until May 2010!

The other three novellas are: Charlaine Harris’ ‘The Britlingens Go to Hell’, Nalini Singh’s ‘Angels’ Judgment’, and Meljean Brook’s ‘Blind Spot’. (for more info about the individual stories and/or excerpts click on the author’s name)

Darkroadrising

Dark Road Rising (Vampire Files #12) by P.N. Elrod

I have only read some of the short stories from this series because I was having a hard time finding the first few books in the series, but I recently discovered that she has put together the complete first 6 books of the series into two volumes that are available in paperback and can be found on Amazon.com (links directly to Vol.1 page).  From what I have read I really like the main character, the Vampire Detective, Jack Fleming and I find P.N. Elrod’s writing style mesmerizing. Her website has excerpts of just about every one of her books including this new release.

eternal

Eternal by V.K. Forrest (E-Book Release Date – Original Pub. Date 2007) Books on Board Sale Price $5.01

This is a re-release of sorts. Usually I will not be posting re-releases in the monthly book release posts but since this is the first time the book is available in the e-book format and is on sale I am making an exception. So going forward I will occasionally posting other books that fall into this category. This book has mixed reviews but the next in the series has better ones which is not totally unheard of for the beginning of a series. Here is one review of this book from the blog Dear Author. Other reviews of both the first and second book in the series can be found at  GoodReads.com.

intertwinedIntertwined by Gena Showalter (Hardcover & E-Book)

This is a Young Adult novel. I generally don’t read YA books. (yes, that means I have not read the Twilight Saga – but I’m breaking and may end up giving in) I am including this book on my list because 1) I know a lot of you do read YA probably because there seem to be a lot more Urban Fantasy novels in the YA section. Why is that? 2) I love Gena Showalter! Not only are her books awesome but she is an absolute trip. If you have no idea what I mean check out her page & blog by clicking on her name about. Once there go to the “Author Talk” section and watch some of the “interviews”. If you don’t love her after that then there may be no hope for you. :) Here is a review by Michelle of Michelle’s Book Blog fame.

darkslayerDark Slayer by Christine Feehan (Carpathians) (Hardcover & E-Book)

It’s Christine Feehan! It’s a Carpathian novel! Need I say more? Okay, well I have not read the entire series but the ones I have read I really enjoyed. Plus I love her GhostWalkers series!!! Here is a review from Genre Go Round Reviews.

stormofshadowsStorm of Shadows by Christina Dodd (Paperback & E-Book)

This is Book 2 in her new series The Chosen Ones, not to be confused with her other series Darkness Chosen. I am not sure if they take place in the same universe or not. If you are obsessive about reading books in order like I am then read Storm of Visions first. The review can be found at Errant Dreams Reviews.

barelybewitched

Barely Bewitched (Southern Witch Series) by Kimberly Frost

The first book in this series is Would-Be Witch. Here is the review at Genre Go Round Reviews. The main character in this series is a 23 yr old with an attitude problem, who is from a long line of witches but does not seem to have inherited the trait herself. She doesn’t seems able to do much of anything else right either. It sounds like a pretty funny, enjoyable read. I love heroines with attitude problems so I will be getting a copy of both of these books ASAP.

vampireagogoVampire a Go-Go: A Novel by Victor Gischler (Paperback)

This book has been described as “Comedy Horror”, I don’t remember where I read that but just from the summary I read I understand why it was described that way. It definitely looks like a funny read! Here is a review from Alternate-Worlds.

Mortal Seductions

Mortal Seductions by Allyson James (Paperback)

This is Book #2 in the “Mortal Series”. Book #1 is Mortal Temptations.

witchcraftWitch Craft (Nocturne City, Book 4) by Caitlin Kittredge (Paperback)

As it says above this is book #4 in the Nocturne City series. This series has been recommended to me by several people and resides on my TBR list. All 3 of the other books in the series can be found at Amazon.com and Borders.com . It can be hard to find the all of them in the Brick & Mortar stores. Here is a review of Witch Craft from Darque Reviews.

Rosemaryandrue

Rosemary and Rue (October Daye #1) by Seanan McGuire (Paperback)

I had never heard of this author before but it sounds like a very interesting story and it’s the beginning of a series which is always a wonderful thing to me. Here is a review brought to you by Lurv A La Mode.

myfavwitch

My Favorite Witch by Lisa Plumley (Paperback & E-Book)

This one just looks like quirky, paranormal fun to enjoy when you just want a quick, lighthearted read. That’s what I got from the summary anyway. I could be wrong – it’s happened a few times. Sorry, I couldn’t find a review but you can read the summery on the author’s page or by clicking on the book cover.

trikoflight

Trick of the Light: Trickster Novel by Rob Thurman (Paperback & E-Book)

I like books about angels and demons – I mean actual angels and demons not the Dan Brown type (though I did love that book). So this book called to me especially once I found out there are angels playing the tables in Vegas!  The review for this one comes from someone on the Barnes & Noble site – if you don’t see it right away click on the “Reviews” tab.

09/15

lostsymbol

The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown (Hardcover & E-Book)

The long awaited third book in the Robert Langdon Trilogy! What can I say I am a major fan of the crime/mystery solving symbology geek. I am sad that this is his last book appearance. If you have not read any of the books but have seen the movies and were not impressed don’t let that put you off of the books, because as if often the case the books are soooooo much better than the movies could even hope to be! I have already pre-ordered my copy. Note: If you are an e-book reader most of the e-book sites are selling the pre-order for under $10.

trucompass_TedKennedyTrue Compass: A Memoir by Edward Kennedy (Hardcover)

What can I say? Either you loved him or you hated him, but here it is in his own words, written as he was dying. Here is some information about the writing of this book.

yroftheflood

Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood (Hardcover)

Oddly the only review of this book I could find is from the Guardian UK and it’s an odd sort of review also. The subtitle to the review is “Margaret Atwood doesn’t think she writes science fiction.Ursula K Le Guin would like to disagree.” And truth be told I agree with Ursula. Even if you decide not to read the book the review is worth checking out.

09/22

Vampireromance2

The Mammoth Book of Vampire Romance 2 – Editor Trisha Telep (Paperback)

Trisha Telep the master of Anthologies is back with her second Mammoth Book of Vampire Romance! A MUST have book for all of us Vampire lovers! This edition includes 25 short stories by some of our favorite Paranormal Romance authors and offers an introduction to some soon to be favs. A few of the author with stories in this book are Eileen Wilks, Caitlin Kittredge, Jennifer Ashley, Dawn Cook a.k.a Kim Harrison, and Diane Whiteside.

echoboneAn Echo in the Bone (Outlander #7) by Diana Gabaldon (Hardcover)

I have never read anything by this author but apparently she is popular since she is a New York Times Bestseller. Other than that the only other thing I know about her is that her blog is titles “Voyages of Artemis” and Artemis is the name of my daughters beloved (and old) cat. The book sounds pretty interesting though.  From what I understand the publisher only sent out ACR’s to Book Sellers so this is the closets thing to a review I could find.

09/29

OntheEdge_Ilona Andrews

On the Edge (The Edge #1) by Ilona Andrews (Paperback & E-Book)

This is the first novel in Ilona Andrews new series The EdgeI am very excited about this one because they are are one of my favorite authors-duo’s (Ilona Andrews is actually a husband & wife writing team). I can’t wait to see the new world they have created. One of the most intriguing things about this new book is that according to a post on their website this book is unclassifiable! Their agent, publisher and a reviewer all told her they didn’t know how to classify it. That alone would make me want to read it. Only 28 days to go! Not intrigued yet? Well here is a review from Book Pushers Anonymous that should get you excited. (the release date in the UK was 8/31)

herfearful

Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger (Hardcover)

New book by the author of Time Traveler’s Wife. There is no time travel in this one but there is a crazy-aunt’s ghost, two American college girls living in the London flat that was left to them by the crazy-aunt when she died and a whole host of wacky neighbors. Here is a review from Half Deserted Streets.

julietnaked

Juliet, Naked: A Novel by Nick Hornby (Hardcover & Kindle E-Book Only)

A new novel about life, love and music by the author of High Fidelity & About a Boy. I will be buying this one as soon as it comes out. The only thing that even comes close to my book obsession is my love of music. I believe that each of us has a soundtrack to our lives, even if you are someone who is “not into” music because even you will hear some song and it will immediately take you back to a different time, different place, or just remind you of someone you haven’t thought of in forever. That’s part of the power of music. That said a book about how music influence life. This review is also brought to you by Half Deserted Streets.

guardian_claire delaroix

Guardian by Claire Delacroix (Paperback & Kindle E-Book Only)

This is book two in the Fallen Angels series. Book #1 is Fallen and can be purchased at Amazon.com.

I plan to read this series because it’s a future based, post-apocalyptic, and has angels – fallen or otherwise. I am recently loving that combination!  Unfortunately I cannot locate a review for this one. :(

Queeneoflight

Queene of Light (Lightworld/Darkworld Book #1) by Jennifer Armintrout (Paperback)

This is book #1 of a new trilogy by Jennifer Armintrout, who is known for her series Blood Ties. All books in the trilogy will be released back-to-back (Sept/Nov/Dec).  I couldn’t find an actual review of the book but I did find an interview with the author on My Overstuffed Bookshelf. In the interview she explains what the trilogy is all about. This is another one (or 3) that I will counting my pennies to make sure I get.

my wicked vampire

My Wicked Vampire by Nina Bangs

To be honest at first I wasn’t much interested in this book. All I had heard about it was that it takes place in an “Adult Fantasyland” and there is a real vampire. That just didn’t appeal to me but the I read this review on  Book Reviews by Jess and then I was sold. There are talking plants, an angry goddess, cosmic trouble maker and a vampire – no that sounds entertaining!

Well, that’s it that’s my list for September! Don’t forget to drop me a line if you read any of these book or have already read them and let me know what you thought. Feedback is always welcome.

Now I have to go add all of these to my Shelfari list.

Cheers,

Heather :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

